Cover Here are all the nominees for the Hong Kong Film Awards (Photo: Edko)

The nominations for the 40th Hong Kong Film Awards have just been announced and black and white thriller, Limbo leads with 12 nominations

The 40th Hong Kong Film Awards nominations are in! This year, the black and white thriller, Limbo leads with 14 nominations followed by Anita Mui biopic, Anita with 12 nods.

Hong Kong actor, producer and screenwriter Gordon Lam (or Lam Ka Tung) earned several nominations in various categories including two Best Actor nods for his roles in Limbo and Hand Rolled Cigarette as well as Best Screenplay for Time.

Two of the Asian Film Award 2021 winners, Nopawat Likitwong and Day Tai also received nominations. The date of the award ceremony has yet to be announced. See the full list of nominees below.

Don’t miss: Oscar Nominations 2022: See the Full List of Academy Award Nominees

Best Film

  • Raging Fire
  • Anita
  • Limbo
  • Zero to Hero
  • Drifting

Best Director

  • Man Lim Chung for Keep Rolling
  • Benny Chan for Raging Fire
  • Longman Leung for Anita
  • Soi Cheang for Limbo
  • Peter Ho-Sun Chan for Leap

Best Screenplay

  • Ashley Cheung Yin Kei, Ho Siu Hong, Li Ho Ting and Ling Wai Chun for One Second Champion
  • Ho Ching Yi and Lam Ka Tung for Time
  • Au Kin Yee and Shum Kwan Sin for Limbo
  • Jimmy Wan and David Lo for Zero to Hero
  • Jun Li for Drifting

Best Actor

  • Lam Ka Tung for Hand Rolled Cigarette
  • Patrick Tse for Time
  • Lam Ka Tung for Limbo
  • Leung Chung Hang for Zero to Hero
  • Francis Ng for Drifting

Best Actress

  • Chrissie Chau for Madalena
  • Louise Wong for Anita
  • Cya Liu for Limbo
  • Sandra Ng for Zero to Hero
  • Gong Li for Leap

Read also: Louise Wong and Bill Kong on Canto-Pop Legend Anita Mui’s Final Wish and Filming ‘Anita’

Best Supporting Actor

  • Louis Koo for Anita
  • Lam Suet for Time
  • Fung Ho Yeung for Zero to Hero
  • Will Or for Drifting
  • Tse Kwan Ho for Drifting

Best Supporting Actress

  • Paw Hee Ching for Caught in Time
  • Fish Liew for Anita
  • Chung Suet Ying for Time
  • Fish Liew for Limbo
  • Bai Lang for Leap
  • Loletta Lee for Drifting

Best New Performer

  • Louise Wong for Anita
  • Chung Suet Ying for Time
  • Leung Chung Hang for Zero to Hero
  • Fung Ho Yeung for Zero to Hero
  • Will Or for Drifting

Best Cinematography

  • Rick Hau for Hand Rolled Cigarette
  • Fung Yuen Man for Raging Fire
  • Anthony Pun for Anita
  • Christopher Doyle and Kubbie Tsoi for Love After Love
  • Cheng Siu Keung for Limbo

Best Film Editing

  • William Chang Suk Ping and Alan Ho for Hand Rolled Cigarette
  • Chung Wai Chiu for Shock Wave 2
  • Mak Chi Sin, Li Dianshi and He Yongyi for The Battle at Lake Changjin
  • Curran Pang for Raging Fire
  • David Richardson for Limbo

Read also: Hong Kong Actor Gordon Lam Welcomes New Career Milestone With Movie ‘Limbo’

Best Art Direction

  • Cheung Siu Hong and Yman Yiu for Hand Rolled Cigarette
  • Pater Wong for Anita
  • Zhao Hai for Love After Love
  • Kenneth Mak and Renee Wong for Limbo
  • Albert Poon Yick Sum for Drifting

Best Costume & Makeup Design

  • Cheung Siu Hong, Chan Chi Chiang Dos Santos for Hand Rolled Cigarette
  • Bobo Ng Bo Ling for Dynasty Warriors
  • Dora Ng and Karen Yip for Anita
  • Emi Wada for Love After Love
  • Bruce Yu and Karen Yip for Limbo

Best Action Choreography

  • Leung Pok Yan for One Second Champion
  • Tang Sui Wa for Hand Rolled Cigarette
  • Li Chung Chi for Shock Wave 2
  • Donnie Yen, Ku Huen Chiu, Tanigaki Kenji and Li Chung Chi for Raging Fire
  • Jack Wong Wai Leung for Limbo

Best Original Film Score

  • Chiu Tsang Hei and Andy Cheung for Anita
  • Ryuichi Sakamoto for Love After Love
  • Kenji Kawai for Limbo
  • Day Tai for Zero to Hero
  • Wong Hin Yan for Drifting

Best Original Film Song

  • Origin of Time from One Second Champion
  • Welcome to this City from The Way We Keep Dancing
  • Dead Lock from Raging Fire
  • Miraculous Road from Zero to Hero
  • Drifting from Drifting

Read also: ‘Hand Rolled Cigarette’ Star Bipin Karma on His Acting Debut and the Power of Storytelling

Best Sound Design

  • Nip Kei Wing and Ip Siu Kei for Shock Wave 2
  • Wang Danrong, Steve Burgess and Yin Jie for The Battle at Lake Changjin
  • Lee Yiu Keung George, Yiu Chun Hin, Kaikangwol Rungsakorn and Stan Yau for Raging Fire
  • Tu Suu-Chih and Wu Shu-Yao for Anita
  • Nopawat Likitwong for Limbo

Best Visual Effects

  • Yee Kwok Leung, Garrett K Lam, Chiu Tak Piu and Loki Ho for Shock Wave 2
  • Tsui Hark, Dennis Yeung and Wang Lei for The Battle at Lake Chungjin
  • Leung Wai Man, Raymond Lim Hung Fung, Alex Diu King Wai and Hung Man Shi for Raging Fire
  • Yee Kwok Leung, Garrett K Lam, Raymond Leung and Candy Hung for Anita
  • Garrett K Lam, Ho Man Lok and Diu King Wai for Limbo

Best New Director

  • Chiu Sin Hang for One Second Champion
  • Kin Long Chan for Hand Rolled Cigarette
  • Man Lim Chung for Keep Rolling
  • Lau Ho Leung for Caught in Time
  • Jun Li for Drifting

Best Asian Chinese Language Film

  • Till We Meet Again
  • American Girl
  • My Missing Valentine
© 2022 Tatler Asia Limited. All rights reserved.