Cover Photo: Unsplash

Singapore currently has Vaccinated Travel Lane arrangments with 27 countries

Singapore will be extending its Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) scheme to travellers from Thailand, Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Turkey. Travellers from these countries will be able to enter Singapore without needing to serve a quarantine from next month, according to the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) on November 26.

Don’t miss: Singapore and Malaysia to Launch Land VTL on November 29

This means that Singapore has now announced a total of 27 air VTLs that include countries such as Kuala Lumpur, Indonesia, India, Sweden and Finland.

The new travel lanes will further broaden Changi Airport’s network, and help reclaim and rebuild Singapore’s status as an international aviation hub with global connectivity, CAAS said.

It added that before the pandemic, these 27 countries contributed to about 60 per cent of the total daily arrivals at Changi Airport. 

Travellers entering Singapore from Thailand can enter Singapore under the VTL from December 14 while travellers from Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Turkey can enter Singapore under the VTL from December 16.

While using the VTL, vaccinated travellers must simply have remained in one or more of the VTL countries in the last 14 days before they can depart to Singapore. 

They must also take two polymerase chain reaction (PCR) tests. One should be done before departure and the second should be done on arrival in Singapore. 

Children 12 and under who are unvaccinated will be allowed to travel under this scheme as long as they are accompanied by a traveller who meets all the requirements and who is also vaccinated. 

Don’t miss: Psst, Here’s How You Can Buy Discounted Singapore Airlines Flights Even Before Planning Your Trip

Currently, Thailand, Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Turkey are all in category two of the Ministry of Health’s Covid-19 risk classification for border measures because they have similar or lower Covid-19 incidence rates than Singapore and the other VTL countries, CAAS said.

Cambodia, Maldives, Sri Lanka, and Thailand have already opened their borders to quarantine-free general travel for vaccinated travellers.

Fiji on the other hand will be opening its borders to vaccinated travellers from Singapore and 39 other countries from December 1. 

© 2022 Tatler Asia Limited. All rights reserved.