Cover Photo: Unsplash

The new curbs come after Denmark reclassified Singapore as one with a high risk of Covid-19 infections

Travellers from Singapore will no longer be allowed to travel into Denmark unless they serve a quarantine after the European city reclassified Singapore as a country with a high risk of Covid-19 infections.

Don’t miss: Here Are All the Places Vaccinated Singaporeans Can Travel to

With the new classification, travellers from Singapore will now need to serve a 10-day self-isolation period upon arrival in Denmark, according to the Embassy of Denmark in a Facebook post that was published on November 11. 

Should a traveller test negative from a Covid-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test on the fourth day after their entry, they will be able to have their isolation period shortened. 

The news comes months after Singapore announced vaccinated travel lanes (VTL) for European countries such as Denmark, Italy, France, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland and Britain.

The VTLs allow vaccinated Singapore residents and residents of these countries to travel between the countries without needing to serve a quarantine as long as they do two Covid-19 PCR tests. One needs to be done before departure and one on arrival. 

Denmark’s decision to impose quarantine requirements on travellers from Singapore comes after the Council of the European Union (EU) decided to remove Singapore from their list of countries for which travel curbs should be lifted.

While this list is not legally binding, it is referenced by the 27 EU member states when they decide on their border restrictions. These member states include all European VTL countries except Britain and Switzerland.

During this period, the Netherlands has also increased its risk assessment for Singapore and has deemed it a very high-risk area in terms of Covid-19 infections. 

As a result, travellers from Singapore to the Netherlands are required to show a negative Covid-19 test result regardless if they are vaccinated or recovered. 

The embassy added that non-vaccinated travellers from high-risk counties will be banned from November 11. 

That said, fully vaccinated travellers from VTL countries in the European Union can continue to enter Singapore without needing to serve a quarantine.

More updates are likely to come in the coming weeks so stay tuned for the latest news. 

Don’t miss: Singapore Vaccinated Travel Lane: What to Know About Travelling With Unvaccinated Children


Fully Vaccinated Household Members Can Dine Out in Groups of 5 From November 10

Covid-19 Singapore: What You Can and Can’t Do

Singapore and Malaysia to Launch New Vaccinated Travel Lane on November 29

© 2022 Tatler Asia Limited. All rights reserved.