Cover Members of the jury panel for the Tatler Homes Design Awards 2022

We unveil the jury members of the upcoming Tatler Homes Design Awards

Good design has the ability to enhance our well-being and the environment we live in—it goes beyond aesthetics to create engaging, multi-sensorial spaces and experiences. This is what the Tatler Homes Design Awards has championed, ever since its inaugural signature event in 2017.

Since its inception, the Tatler Homes Design Awards has celebrated the most innovative and creative luxury residential projects in the local design scene. Rebranded in 2022 as the Tatler Homes Design Awards, the awards continue to embrace the bold ideas and multi-faceted elements of good design.

Now entering its 6th iteration, the list of winners is set to be announced in April 2022. This edition of the Tatler Homes Design Awards is sponsored by Arova, Gallery 1819, Gaggenau, Hafary, Liaigre and Synergraphic Design.

Here, we unveil the members of the jury panel, who will help in the selection of the award-winning projects.

Don't miss: Tatler Design Awards 2021: The Winners

Belinda Huang and Khoo Peng Beng

Directors of Arc Studio Architecture + Urbanism

This dynamic husband-and-wife team are the creative minds behind the landmark Pinnacle@Duxton public housing complex, luxury condominium The Tembusu as well as stylish hospitality establishments such as The Barracks Hotel and Oasia Sentosa. The couple were jointly named Designer of the Year at the 2020 edition of the President*s Design Award for their socially impactful and community-centric projects that pay respect to nature.

In case you missed it: Asia’s Most Influential: Belinda Huang and Khoo Peng Beng on Making Social Impact Through Design

Mark Wee

Executive director of DesignSingapore Council

As a believer in shaping places that deepen identity and community, Wee is an advocate and practitioner of design innovation methodologies inspired by empathy and experiential prototyping. The designer, architect, artist and educator helmed Ong&Ong’s Experience Design Studio from 2011 to 2016, rethinking user experiences for clients such as Singapore Airlines and the Singapore Stock Exchange.

Read more: Why Good Design Matters, According To DesignSingapore Council Executive Director Mark Wee

Clint Nagata

Founder of Blink Design Group

Clint Nagata spearheads the strategic direction of Blink Design Group, a luxury hospitality design firm that has crafted stunning destinations such as Roku Kyoto, Six Senses Uluwatu in Bali and Raffles Maldives Meradhoo Resort. Currently, Blink Design Group has offices in Bangkok, Singapore, Shanghai and Tokyo; the firm also acquired Jaya Interior Design, the firm founded by the late Jaya Ibrahim, in 2017.

Don't miss: Mood Board: Clint Nagata Discusses a Japanese Vase, Hand-made Lamp and Other Stylish Pieces He Loves

Ed Bakos

CEO of Champalimaud Design

With over 25 years of experience in luxury hospitality and restaurant design, Bakos has led the design of many notable hospitality and restaurant projects, including the first W Hotel in New York. He joined Champalimaud Design as its managing director and partner in 2012, and in 2019, he was named the firm’s CEO. The studio’s recent projects include Raffles Hotel Singapore, Badrutt’s Palace in St Moritz, and Halekulani Okinawa.

In case you missed it: First Look: 9 Stunning Design Elements We Love At Raffles Hotel Singapore

Sabrina Long

Dean of the School of Art and Design at the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts (NAFA)

Having helmed NAFA’s 3D Design programme for 10 years, Long is an industry veteran who worked in Hong Kong and Singapore specialising in kitchen systems and furniture design before entering the academic world. As a passionate advocate of the engagement of students in professional practice, Long has nurtured talents who have won awards at major international competitions.

Teo Su Seam

Partner of LTW Designworks

After graduating from the Rhode Island School of Design in 1989, Teo worked with respected interior design firms abroad before joining LTW Designworks in 1994; she became the firm’s partner in 2001. Together with principal partner Lim Hong Lian, Teo leads a team of over 100 employees in Milan, Beijing, Shanghai and Singapore. Recent projects completed by the firm include Park Hyatt Beijing, Shangri-La Colombo and St. Regis Qingdao, China.

Read more: What Does Luxury Mean To A Hotel Designer?

Frank Leung

Founder and principal of Via.

Backed by over 25 years of experience, the Hong Kong-born designer has worked extensively across residential, retail and hospitality design. Leung founded Via. in 2009; the studio’s name was selected to embody the multidisciplinary nature of its work. He now leads a team of over 40 employees, and is known for creating projects that pair a worldly sophistication with a respect for cultural nuances.

In case you missed it: Mood Board: How Frank Leung of Via Designs for Happiness

Erwin Viray

Chief Sustainability Officer at the Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD)

Professor Viray’s illustrious career includes being the Global Excellence professor at Kyoto Institute of Technology and head of the Graduate School of Architecture and Design from 2012 to 2016. He currently leads SUTD’s sustainability initiatives; prior to this, he was the head of the Architecture and Sustainable Design pillar at the university from May 2016 to July 2021.

© 2022 Tatler Asia Limited. All rights reserved.