Cover Photo: Geoff Greenwood/

In a shock announcement, Thailand has confirmed that it will open quarantine-free travel to 46 countries starting November 1st. So pack your bags, because one of Asia's favourite destinations is finally back in business

Thailand pulled the rug from under the world—in the best way—with a surprise official announcement that they will open up to a total of 46 countries starting from November 1, 2021. People travelling from these countries will not have to do quarantine in Thailand upon arrival.

Originally, it was expected that Thailand would only open up to 20 countries.

The countries that will be able to travel in and out of Thailand include Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Malaysia and the United States to name a few. See the full list at the end of this article. 

See also: The Most Luxurious New Hotels Opening in 2022


Government officials clarified that to enter under the Quarantine Exempt model, “travellers must reside in the eligible countries for at least 21 consecutive days”, meaning the nationality of the individual isn't relevant, but rather they have to spend time in an eligible country for three weeks prior to entering Thailand.

Other requirements include getting an approval QR Code through the Thailand Pass Application, have a confirmed and prepaid hotel reservation, carry health insurance that includes Covid-19 treatment with at least US$50,000 coverage, have a negative PCR test result taken within 72 hours prior to travel, and take a Covid-19 test on the day of arrival, arranged by your hotel. 

Travellers entering Thailand must also be fully vaccinated at least 14 days prior to traveling.

These are the countries that can travel quarantine-free to Thailand starting November 1: Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States.

Tatler Asia
© 2022 Tatler Asia Limited. All rights reserved.