Cover All the winners at GPHG 2022

Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG) honours the best of the best in watchmaking in 2022

A jury led by watch historian and author Nick Foulkes judged MB&F’s Legacy Machine Sequential Evo to be the “best in show” at the Grand Prix d'Horlogerie de Genève 2022 award ceremony held in Geneva on November 10. The LM Machine Sequential Evo pushes technical boundaries with two independent chronograph displays made possible by the “Twinverter” binary switch allowing multiple timing modes—split-second, sequentiall, and even a cumulative “chess match” mode—in a never-before-seen combination. 

The best men’s and ladies’ watches went to Akrivia's Chronomètre Contemporain II and Parmigiani Fleurier’s Tonda PF Automatic respectively. The former is truly a modern classic with a redesigned movement that resets the seconds hand to 12 o'clock in one blink-and-you’ll-miss-it move without compromising precision. The latter is a charming 36mm in rose gold with a finely guilloché dial and baguette diamonds for the hour markers.

See also: 8 Under-The-Radar Independent Watchmakers You Should Know

Here's the full list of winners at GPHG 2022: 

  • “Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix: MB&F, Legacy Machine Sequential Evo
  • Ladies’ Watch Prize: Parmigiani Fleurier, Tonda PF Automatic
  • Ladies’ Complication Watch Prize: Hermès, Arceau Le temps voyageur
  • Men’s Watch Prize: Akrivia, Chronomètre Contemporain II
  • Men’s Complication Watch Prize: Hermès, Arceau Le temps voyageur
  • Iconic Watch Prize: TAG Heuer, Monaco X Gulf
  • Tourbillon Watch Prize: H. Moser & Cie, Pioneer Cylindrical Tourbillon Skeleton
  • Calendar and Astronomy Watch Prize: Krayon, Anywhere
  • Mechanical Exception Watch Prize: Ferdinand Berthoud, FB 2RSM.2-1
  • Chronograph Watch Prize: Grönefeld, 1941 Grönograaf Tantalum
  • Diver’s Watch Prize: Tudor, Pelagos FXD

Throwback: Ming From Malaysia Wins A Prize At 2019 Grand Prix D’Horlogerie De Geneve

  • Jewellery Watch Prize: Bulgari, Serpenti Misteriosi High Jewellery
  • Artistic Crafts Watch Prize: Voutilainen, Ji-Ku
  • “Petite Aiguille” Prize: Trilobe, Nuit Fantastique Dune Edition
  • Challenge Watch Prize: M.A.D. Editions, M.A.D.1 Red
  • Mechanical Clock Prize: Van Cleef & Arpels, Fontaine Aux Oiseaux automaton
  • Innovation Prize: Van Cleef & Arpels, Lady Arpels Heures Florales Cerisier watch
  • Audacity Prize: Bulgari, Octo Finissimo Ultra 10th Anniversary
  • Chronometry Prize: Grand Seiko, Kodo Constant-force Tourbillon
  • “Horological Revelation” Prize: Sylvain Pinaud, Origine
  • Special Jury Prize: François Junod, automaton-maker and sculptor
Tatler Asia
© 2022 Tatler Asia Limited. All rights reserved.