The film will be directed by Oscar-winning director, Chloé Zhao and is set to release in theatres on November 5 this year

Marvel has officially released the first look at its latest upcoming film, Eternals. The superhero film, which is set to hit the big screens on November 5, is the next big film by Chloé Zhao, who is fresh off her spectacular win for best picture and best director at the Oscars for her film, Nomadland.

The teaser, which was released on all Marvel’s social media channels last night, was actually a hype reel of Marvel’s upcoming films following their break from theatrical releases as a result of the pandemic.

While it does not provide as much footage of Eternals as we would like, we do get a few quick flashes of the film's bigger stars.

The sneak peek shows Salma Hayek, who plays the character Ajak, riding a horse, Richard Madden as Ikaris leading the team and Kumail Nanjiani as Kingo as he looks off into the distance. 

However, the highlight of the reel was Marvel fans getting to see Angelina Jolie, who plays Thena, swinging a giant sword of light while decked out in her superhero gear. 

Related: Watch: Shang-Chi Trailer Released, Marvel's First Asian Superhero Movie

Tatler Asia
(Image: Marvel Studios/Instagram)
Above (Image: Marvel Studios/Instagram)

The film will be based on the Marvel comics of the same name and will follow the events of Avengers: Endgame.

The Eternals will be an immortal group of superheroes who have lived on Earth secretly for many years. In the film, they will be reuniting to protect humanity from evil.

Tatler Asia
(Image: Marvel Studios/Instagram)
Above (Image: Marvel Studios/Instagram)

Along with a sneak peek at Eternals, the three-minute-long video also revealed a lot of Marvel news including the fact that the second Black Panther movie would be titled Black Panther: Wakanda Forever. 

It also revealed that the upcoming sequel to Captain Marvel, which follows Ms Marvel, which is on Disney Plus, will feature Brie Larson and Iman Vellani as Carol Danvers and Kamala Khan and will see the pair team up for the film. 

The video also revealed the updated release dates and lineups for the next two years of Marvel movies. The schedule will look like this:

  • Black Widow: July 9, 2021
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings: September 3, 2021
  • Eternals: November 5, 2021
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home: December 17, 2021
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness: March 25, 2022
  • Thor: Love and Thunder: May 6, 2022
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever: July 8, 2022
  • The Marvels: November 11, 2022
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania: February 17, 2023
  • Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 3: May 5, 2023

The epic video ended with a quick look at Jon Watt’s logo for his upcoming The Fantastic Four reboot. However, the film, which will likely only release in 2023, was given no official release date.

Tatler Asia
© 2023 Tatler Asia Limited. All rights reserved.