Following the cocktail reception, guests took their seats in the Grand Ballroom for dinner. In keeping with the theme of the night, “Science. Space. The Future,” the Grand Hyatt’s executive chef, Gerhard Passrugger, had created a five-course menu of dishes he imagines mankind will be eating in the year 2118.

A highlight of the evening was the awards ceremony, hosted by Edipresse Media Asia chief content officer and managing director Sean Fitzpatrick. The awards were presented by Edipresse Media Asia chairman and CEO Michel Lamunière. Yuri and Julia Milner took home the inaugural Global Unity Award, which recognises their work with the Breakthrough Prize Foundation. Joanna Lui Hickox was this year’s Most Promising Young Lady, and Ming Ho-Tang the Most Stylish Woman. The coveted Diamond Award went to Peter Woo.

The formal part of the evening ended with a performance by singer Tabitha Nauser, a Singaporean Generation T lister, after which guests moved to the dance floor to revel in the tunes of DJ Miss Yellow well into the wee hours.