Felicitations to Wei Loon Tan, Otto Tay, Loi Ming Ai and Patrick Siau (head chef of Sunway University's School of Hospitality) on being crowned champions at the 2019 Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie (also known as the World Pastry Cup) just this morning! Malaysia has never snagged the gold, silver or bronze in the 30 years of the championship, making the announcement all the more gratifying. The Academy of Pastry Arts Malaysia is now under the world's watchful eye. #CMPatisserie

Tatler Asia
Above Day of judgement. Photo: Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie.

Artistry should always be celebrated and rewarded, hence the Academy Awards (filmmaking), the Grammy Awards (music), the Pulitzer Prize (penmanship) and the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie (pastry), the last of which transpired at the Sirha Trade Show in Lyon on January 27-28, 2019.

63 contestants from 21 countries (3 pastry chefs per team/country) represented Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, China, Egypt, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Morocco, Mexico, Poland, Singapore, South Korea, Sweden, Taiwan, Tunisia, the United Kingdom, and the USA, but it was team Malaysia that took home the gold with 11,904 points. Japan and Italy were named runner-up and first runner-up with 11,862 and 11,083 points each.

Tatler Asia
Above Team Malaysia's chocolate dessert and fruit dessert. Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie

'Nature, Flora and Fauna' was the theme for this year's landmark competition, hence several new requirements, including a 100% vegan dessert and another to highlight the plight of the bees. During the finalé, contestants had to work at a breakneck pace to to accomplish all of the following in exactly 10 hours:

  • 3 chocolate desserts with Valrhona grands crus
  • 3 frozen fruit desserts from the Ravifruit range
  • 15 identical desserts on plate
  • 1 artistic creation made of sugar
  • 1 artistic creation made of chocolate
  • 1 artistic creation made of sculpted hydric ice

A biannual occurence, the next World Pastry Cup will occur in 2021.

The Malaysian Team