Cover Ang Lee named recipient of the 2021 BAFTA Fellowship (photo: Getty Images)

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts bestows its highest individual honour on the celebrated filmmaker, whose work spans more than three decades and a broad range of genres

This Sunday, at the 74th EE British Academy Film Awards, the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) will honour Ang Lee with a BAFTA Fellowship, the highest accolade the academy bestows. Previous honourees include Charlie Chaplin, Alfred Hitchcock, Steven Spielberg, Elizabeth Taylor, Martin Scorsese, and Judi Dench. The Fellowship celebrates Lee as "one of the world's most pioneering and revered contemporary filmmakers whose ground-breaking films are highly acclaimed spanning multiple genres throughout his producing, writing, and directing career".

Lee's filmography spans three decades, and his acclaimed work—including Brokeback Mountain, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Eat Drink Man Woman, and Sense and Sensibility—has earned him 12 Academy Awards, 14 BAFTAs, and nine Golden Globes. 

Related: Oscars Nominations 2021: 6 Asians That Made History

"Ang Lee is a master of his craft," said BAFTA Film Committee Chair Marc Samuelson in a statement. "He is an incredibly versatile, daring and exceptional filmmaker who effortlessly moves between genres. 

"His films have been truly ground-breaking both in terms of their technical expertise and for the subject matters he tackles. His pioneering work in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Brokeback Mountain and Life of Pi and so many other titles not only showcase his technical ability and deep understanding of the filmmaking process, but also his ability to infuse every story – no matter how epic or simple—with humanizing characters we can all relate to on an emotional level through his exceptional work. We are thrilled to present him with BAFTA's highest honour."

Brush up on Lee's filmography with these trailers for some of Lee's most celebrated movies: 

The Ice Storm (1997)

The Wedding Banquet (1993)

Sense and Sensibility (1992)

Eat Drink Man Woman (1994)

Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon (2000)

Brokeback Mountain (2005)

Life of Pi (2012)

© 2022 Tatler Asia Limited. All rights reserved.