Here’s what you need to know about the APO Hiking Society musical

The songs of the musical trio APO Hiking Society are considered classics, occupying an important place in the canon of original Filipino music. As a group that began its musical career in the late 70s and well into the Marcos martial law regime, APO made catchy tunes that took aim at the political climate, but there were also the youth anthems and love songs that resounded with the public.

It was only a matter of time until their music took the stage once again. This time, the legacy of APO is translated into a comedy musical by Robbie Guevara who wrote and directed “Eto Na! Musikal nAPO!” The 9Works Theatrical production features 26 songs of the trio, which convey the everyday struggles of a group of college students wrestling with life as a young adult, love, the promise of an unsure future, and the political and social turmoil that comes with Martial Law.

The musical opens with an orchestral medley of some of APO’s hits, which then turns up to a full-cast performance of Blue Jeans, setting the tone for the characters’ struggle against their various responsibilities in life. The story keeps its focus on the lives of 7 boys, who are brought together by their decision to join a televised singing and songwriting contest to pursue their musical passions. In the process of creating and submitting their song entry, they each undergo changes in their lives which ultimately lead them to a different place from where they began.

The musical makes good use of APO’s hits—from the soul stirring to the downright cheesy—with Guevara concocting the right situation to fit the actual songs. Although the story bogs down in its own fluctuating tone at times, the music and performance ensure a thoroughly enjoyable and sentimental experience. Good luck trying not to sing along!


“Eto Na! Musikal nAPO!” is running at the Maybank Performing Arts Centre in BGC in all weekends of August. Starring: Mark Bautista, Rita Daniela, Jef Flores, Sab Jose, Jobim Javier, Marika Sasaki, Alfritz Blanche, Jon Abella, Vyen Villanueva, Jep Go and more!

Find out all about it here.

© 2022 Tatler Asia Limited. All rights reserved.